• La coupure

    Fiona Barton

    Les vrais cauchemars surgissent sans prévenir.
    Quand quelques lignes en bas de la colonne des brèves révèlent la découverte d'un squelette de bébé sur un chantier de la banlieue de Londres, la plupart des lecteurs n'y prêtent guère attention. Mais pour trois femmes, cette nouvelle devient impossible à ignorer.
    Angela revit à travers elle le pire moment de son existence : quarante ans auparavant, on lui a dérobé sa fille à la maternité. Depuis, elle cherche des réponses.
    Pour Emma, jeune éditrice en free lance, c'est le début de la descente aux enfers, car ce fait divers risque fort de mettre son secret le plus noir à jour et de détruire sa vie à jamais.
    Quant à Kate, journaliste de renom et avide d'une bonne story, elle flaire là le premier indice d'une affaire qui pourrait bien lui coûter quelques nuits blanches.
    Car toutes les histoires ne sont pas bonnes à être publiées... Encore moins quand elles font resurgir des vérités que personne ne souhaite connaître.

  • La veuve

    Fiona Barton

    Mari idéal ou parfait assassin ? Elle devait savoir... non ? La vie de Jane Taylor a toujours été ordinaire. Un travail sans histoire, une jolie maison, un mari attentionné, en somme tout ce dont elle pouvait rêver, ou presque. Jusqu'au jour où une petite fille disparaît et que les médias désignent Glen, son époux, comme LE suspect principal de ce crime. Depuis ce jour, plus rien n'a été pareil. Jane devient la femme d'un monstre aux yeux de tous. Les quatre années suivantes ressemblent à une descente aux enfers : accusée par la justice, assaillie par les médias, abandonnée par ses amis, elle ne connaît plus le bonheur ni la tranquilité, même après un acquittement. Mais aujourd'hui, Glen est mort. Fauché par un bus. Ne reste que Jane, celle qui a tout subi, qui pourtant n'est jamais partie. Traquée par un policier en quête de vérité et une journaliste sans scrupule, la veuve va-t-elle enfin délivrer sa version de l'histoire ?

  • Le suspect

    Fiona Barton

    Jusqu'où iriez-vous pour protéger votre famille ?
    Quand deux jeunes filles de dix-huit ans disparaissent lors de leur année sabbatique en Thaïlande, leurs familles se retrouvent aussitôt sous les projecteurs des médias internationaux : désespérées, paniquées et exposées jusque dans leur intimité.
    La journaliste Kate Waters, toujours avide d'un bon papier, se charge immédiatement de l'affaire, mais cette fois elle est loin d'imaginer à quel point elle va être impliquée personnellement.
    Car deux corps correspondant aux signalements sont retrouvés dans un incendie et ne laissent aucun doute sur le sort des disparues. Autre découverte : la correspondance personnelle d'une des victimes. La jeune femme y fait référence à un certain Jack, rencontré peu avant son décès. Jack qui n'est autre que le fils de Kate dont elle n'a plus de nouvelles....

  • Anglais The Widow

    Fiona Barton

    'The ultimate psychological thriller' Lisa GardnerWe've all seen him: the man - the monster - staring from the front page of every newspaper, accused of a terrible crime. But what about her: the woman who grips his arm on the courtroom stairs - the wife who stands by him? Jean Taylor's life was blissfully ordinary. Nice house, nice husband. Glen was all she'd ever wanted: her Prince Charming. Until he became that man accused, that monster on the front page. Jean was married to a man everyone thought capable of unimaginable evil.But now Glen is dead and she's alone for the first time, free to tell her story on her own terms.Jean Taylor is going to tell us what she knows. Du Maurier's REBECCA meets WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN and GONE GIRL in this intimate tale of a terrible crime.'My book of the year so far' C. L. Taylor, author of THE LIE

  • Anglais The Widow

    Fiona Barton

    A loving husband or a heartless killer...she'd know, wouldn't she? There's a lot Jean hasn't said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with accusing glares and anonymous harassment. Now her husband is dead, and there's no reason to stay quiet. People want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them there were secrets. There always are in a marriage. The truth--that's all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything. For the reporter who has secured the exclusive interview, this is the scoop of a lifetime. For the detective who has lived a half-life since he failed to get justice for the victim, it is a chance to get at the truth that has eluded him for so long. For Jean, it's a chance to defend herself, what she knew--and when. This is the tale of a missing child, narrated by the wife of the main suspect, the detective leading the hunt, and the journalist covering the case. It's a brilliantly ominous, psychologically acute portrait of a marriage in crisis--perfect for fans of The Silent Wife and The Girl on the Train. From the Trade Paperback edition.

  • Anglais The Widow

    Fiona Barton

    THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
    An NPR Best Book of 2016
    One of The Wall Street Journal’s 5 “Killer Books” of the Year
    A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
    For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife.
    When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when more bad things began to happen...
    But that woman’s husband died last week. And Jean doesn’t have to be her anymore.
    There’s a lot Jean hasn’t said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.
    Now there’s no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.
    The truth--that’s all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything…

  • Anglais The Child

    Fiona Barton

    THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER, NOW A RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK'Clever and compelling. You'll love THE CHILD' Clare Mackintosh, author of LET ME LIE'An engrossing, irresistible story about the coming to light of a long-buried secret. An absolutely fabulous read - I loved it!' Shari Lapena, author of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR'Tense, tantalising and ultimately very satisfying . . . definitely one of the year's must-reads' Lee Child
    ********When a paragraph in an evening newspaper reveals a decades-old tragedy, most readers barely give it a glance. But for three strangers it's impossible to ignore.
    For one woman, it's a reminder of the worst thing that ever happened to her.For another, it reveals the dangerous possibility that her darkest secret is about to be discovered.And for the third, a journalist, it's the first clue in a hunt to uncover the truth.
    The Child's story will be told.********THE SUSPECT, the next unputdownable crime thriller from Fiona Barton, is available for pre-order now

  • La Veuve - extrait offert

    Fiona BARTON

    • 12-21
    • 10 Août 2017

    Mari idéal ou parfait assassin ? Elle devait savoir... non ?
    La vie de Jane Taylor a toujours été ordinaire.
    Un travail sans histoire, une jolie maison, un mari attentionné, en somme tout ce dont elle pouvait rêver, ou presque.
    Jusqu'au jour où une petite fille disparaît et que les médias désignent Glen, son époux, comme LE suspect principal de ce crime.
    Depuis ce jour, plus rien n'a été pareil.
    Jane devient la femme d'un monstre aux yeux de tous.
    Les quatre années suivantes ressemblent à une descente aux enfers : accusée par la justice, assaillie par les médias, abandonnée par ses amis, elle ne connaît plus le bonheur ni la tranquilité, même après un acquittement.
    Mais aujourd'hui, Glen est mort. Fauché par un bus.
    Ne reste que Jane, celle qui a tout subi, qui pourtant n'est jamais partie. Traquée par un policier en quête de vérité et une journaliste sans scrupule, la veuve va-t-elle enfin délivrer sa version de l'histoire ?

empty