• The cry

    Helen Fitzgerald

    Joanna et Allister, couple sans histoires, s'envolent pour l'Australie avec leur bébé de neuf semaines. Entre larmes et crises de l'enfant, le voyage est éprouvant.
    Peu après leur arrivée, ils découvrent que leur enfant a perdu la vie. Accès de panique ou froid calcul ? Les deux parents prennent une décision folle.
    Avec une virtuosité machiavélique, Helen FitzGerald nous attire dans un enchaînement diabolique : mensonges, manipulations et jeux de dupes. The Cry place le lecteur sous tension permanente, jusqu'au dénouement époustouflant.
    Traduit de l'anglais par Alexandre Civico

  • Anglais Viral

    Helen FitzGerald

    So far, twenty-three thousand and ninety six people have seen me online. They include my mother, my father, my little sister, my grandmother, my other grandmother, my grandfather, my boss, my sixth year Biology teacher and my boyfriend James.When Leah Doyle and her adopted sister Su go on holiday together to Magaluf to celebrate their A-levels, only Leah returns home. Her successful, swotty sister remains abroad, humiliated and afraid: there is an online video of her, drunkenly performing a sex act in a nightclub. And everyone has seen it.Jennifer Doyle, mother of the girls, successful court judge, is furious. How could this have happened? How can she bring justice to these men who took advantage of her dutiful, virginal daughter? What role has Leah played in all this? And can Jennifer find Su and bring her back home when Su doesn't want to be found?

  • Deux soeurs jumelles atteintes d'une grave maladie des reins, un père pétrifié, une mère absente. Un seul donneur, un choix impossible. À la manière d'un Herman Koch ou d'une Lionel Shriver, un roman politiquement incorrect, originale alliance de chronique familiale, de suspense psychologique et d'humour noir.
    Mélange détonnant de chronique familiale, suspense psychologique et humour noir grinçant, une comédie dramatique radicalement incorrecte, dans la veine d'un Herman Koch ou d'une Lionel Shriver. Will Marion a quarante-sept ans, une vague vocation de cinéaste et deux jumelles de seize ans qu'il élève seul depuis que leur mère a eu la bonne idée d'aller soigner sa toxicomanie sur une plage en Inde. Jusqu'ici tout va bien. Un jour, Georgie, la plus rebelle des deux, développe une grave insuffisance rénale. Pas de problème, Will a deux reins superbes, en parfait état de marche. Jusqu'ici tout va encore bien. Mais voici que la douce Kay développe la même maladie que sa soeur. Rien ne va plus. Que faire ? Acheter un rein sur Internet ? Parcourir le monde à la recherche de l'organe qui sauvera ses deux filles ? Se sacrifier ? À moins qu'il n'existe une autre solution, une solution si terrible que Will, l'éternel indécis, n'ose même pas l'envisager...

  • Dead Lovely is the debut novel from Helen FitzGerald, the bestselling author of The Cry and My Last Confession. What happens when your best friend gets what you've always wanted?Krissie and Sarah - best friends for years - have always wanted different things from life. Krissie has no desire to settle down, whereas Sarah married a doctor in her early twenties and is dying to start a family. So when Krissie becomes pregnant after a fling and Sarah can't seem to conceive, things get a little tense.They decide to go on holiday along with Sarah's husband in the hope of getting their friendship back on track. But what starts as a much-needed break soon becomes a nightmare of sexual tension, murder and mayhem... 'Outrageous, clever, funny, poignant. Helen Fitzgerald really is one to watch.' Mo Hayder Perfect for fans of Julia Crouch, Sophie Hannah and Laura Lippman, Dead Lovely is a debut novel, a fast-paced thriller and a dark, enthralling examination of friendship. Helen FitzGerald's other books include The Cry, The Exit, My Last Confession and The Donor.

  • When she starts her new job as a parole officer, Krissie is happy and in love. Then she meets convicted murderer Jeremy, and begins to believe he may be innocent. Her growing obsession with his case threatens to jeopardise everything - her job, her relationship and her life. Perfect for fans of Julia Crouch, Sophie Hannah and Laura Lippman, My Last Confession is a dark and compelling psychological thriller that traces a young parole officer and her dangerous obsession with a convicted murderer. Helen FitzGerald is also the acclaimed author of The Cry, which was longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award.'Thinking woman's noir.' Sunday Telegraph'Cool, classy and sexy.' Daily Mirror'A story that adeptly escalates to a satisfyingly shocking climax.' Big Issue

  • Anglais Bloody Women

    Fitzgerald Helen

    • Birlinn
    • 17 Décembre 2012

    A delight to find something new ... funny, moving, horrifying and compelling' – Times Literary Supplement 'FitzGerald ... is adept at arresting openings, tense cliffhangers and tumultuous climaxes' – The Herald 'Bloody Women is delicious, ingenious, inventive and mordantly funny. Helen FitzGerald has a real skill for making the totally absurd and goofy, thoroughly logical and reasonable' – Big Beat from Badsville Returning to Scotland to organise her wedding, Catriona is overcome with the jitters. She decides to tie up loose ends before settling permanently in Tuscany, and seeks out her ex-boyfriends. Only problem is, they all end up dead and Catriona is the prime suspect.

  • Anglais The Devil's Staircase

    Fitzgerald Helen

    • Birlinn
    • 17 Décembre 2012

    As elegant and witty as it is disturbing.' – The Daily Telegraph 'Accomplished and gloriously black comedy' – Allan Guthrie 'Lovely, sparse, elegant writing, highly original plot and ever- building tension make this book irresistible. There's sex and drugs and rock-and-roll, a whiff of true evil and a scream-out loud finale. Wow!' – Australian Women';s Weekly 'Scary and stylish slice of urban noir' – Boyd Tonkin, Independent 'Colourful characters, dramatic plot twists and vibrant vernacular ... a great read' The Bookseller 'Brilliant, shocking and unputdownable' – Sydney Morning Herald Bronny, a young Australian, finds herself down and out in London. She's a sweet girl who has spent her teenage years in a fearful, cautious bubble. She's never taken drugs, had sex or killed anyone. Within six weeks she's done all three. A group of backpackers break into an abandoned London townhouse seeking a rent-free life of debauchery. They don't realise someone's already there: a terrified woman bound and gagged in the basement. "The Devil's Staircase" combines a chick-lit voice and a dark crime noir environment. Not for the faint-hearted, "The Devil's Staircase" is funny, sexy and disturbing – it will keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

  • The Donor, Helen FitzGerald's fifth novel, is a nail-biting psychological thriller about a single dad's horrorfying dilemma. Will, who has given up everything to raise his twin daughters, has a terrible choice to make when both girls suffer kidney failure age 16.Should he save one child? If so, which one?Should he buy a kidney - be an organ tourist?Should he sacrifice himself?Or is there a fourth solution - one so terrible it has never even crossed his mind? Perfect for fans of Julia Crouch, Sophie Hannah and Laura Lippman, The Donor is a gripping thriller about a single dad faced with organ donation as his twin daughters battle to survive. Helen FitzGerald is also the acclaimed author of The Cry, which was longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award.

  • The Cry was longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. When a baby goes missing on a lonely roadside in Australia, it sets off a police investigation that will become a media sensation and dinner-table talk across the world. Lies, rumours and guilt snowball, causing the parents, Joanna and Alistair, to slowly turn against each other. Finally Joanna starts thinking the unthinkable: could the truth be even more terrible than she suspected? And what will it take to make things right? Perfect for fans of Julia Crouch, Sophie Hannah and Laura Lippman, The Cry was widely acclaimed as one of the best psychological thrillers of the year. There's a gripping moral dilemma at its heart and characters who will keep you guessing on every page.

  • Some people love goodbyes...23-year-old Catherine is mainly interested in Facebook and flirting, but she reluctantly takes a job at a local care home after her mother puts her foot down - and soon discovers that her new workplacecontains many secrets.One of the residents at the home, 82-year-old Rose, is convinced that something sinister is going on in Room 7 and that her own life is under threat. But Rose has dementia - so what does she actually know, and who would believe her anyway?As Catherine starts investigating Rose's allegations, terrible revelations surface about everyone involved. Can Catherine find out what's really going on before it's too late?

empty