• Chez Nous

    Louise Candlish

    Inconnu(e) à cette adresse.Fiona et Bram Lawson pensaient s'être séparés " intelligemment ". Ils avaient, en tout cas, trouvé un accord : ils habiteraient à tour de rôle avec leurs enfants dans leur belle demeure de Trinity Avenue, dans le sud de Londres. Mais l'histoire a mal tourné. Très mal tourné.
    Un jour d'hiver, en rentrant chez elle, Fiona tombe sur des déménageurs. Tous ses meubles ont disparu, il y a des gens dans sa maison - un couple qu'elle n'a jamais vu lui annonce qu'il en est le nouveau propriétaire. Fiona essaie immédiatement de joindre Bram, mais son numéro est hors service. Et ses enfants, eux aussi, sont introuvables. Cauchemar éveillé ? Cela ne fait que commencer !
    Entre Desperate Housewives et Les Apparences, Chez nous est un thriller redoutablement addictif, qui tient son lecteur en haleine jusqu'à la dernière page.Meilleur livre de l'année 2019 dans la catégorie Policier et Thriller du
    British Book Award.

  • How far would you follow him before you accept it's over?

    Eleanor Blake, distraught after breaking up with her fiance Will, decides to do what most would scarcely dare: secretly follow him to the island hideaway where he's on holiday with the woman who took her place. But on the shimmering, sun-drenched Sicilian island of Panarea, distractions come in many forms - including her fellow hotel guest Lewis, an enigmatic Englishman with secrets of his own to protect. And then there's Frannie, a young Italian actress on the island to prepare for her first film role, who is as charming as she is beautiful. Can she really be so perfect? And shouldn't Eleanor be the first to suspect that things might not be as they seem?

    The Island Hideaway is a surprising, insightful and compelling novel from the bestselling author of Since I Don't Have You.

    Previously published as Prickly Heat.

  • Arriving on the windswept Ile de Re off the coast of France, Tabby Dewhurst is heartbroken and penniless, unable even to afford a room for the night. Then she overhears a villager repeating aloud the access code to her front door and, hardly believing her own actions, Tabby waits for the villager to leave and lets herself into the house . . .
    And so she enters the strange, hidden world of Emmie, whose sudden offer of friendship is at odds with her obsession with her own privacy. Soon Tabby begins to form suspicions about Emmie, suspicions that will lead her back to England - and to a scandal with shattering consequences.

  • My name is Amber Fraser. I've just moved in at Number 40, Lime Park Road. You'll come to think of me as a loving wife, a thoughtful neighbour and a trusted friend.
    This is a lie.
    When Christy and Joe Davenport are handed the keys to Number 40 on picture-perfect Lime Park Road, Christy knows it should be a dream come true. How strange though that the house was on the market for such a low price. That the previous owners, the Frasers, had renovated the entire property yet moved out within a year. That none of the neighbours will talk to Christy.
    As her curiosity begins to give way to obsession, Christy finds herself drawn deeper into the mystery of the house's previous occupants - and the dark and shocking secret that tore the street apart . . .
    Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jane Shemilt, The Sudden Departure of the Frasers is a Rear Window for modern times. Praise for Louise Candlish:
    'Louise Candlish's stories don't shy away from life's more painful and emotional moments' Glamour 'I loved this book. Full of complicated yet sympathetic characters and riven with the kind of dilemmas that characterise real lives. I honestly didn't see the twist coming. Perfect' Jojo Moyes on The Day You Saved my Life 'Tense, twisty and completely addictive, will keep you guessing right until the end . . .' Good Housekeeping 'A master of her craft' Rosamund Lupton 'Absorbing, perceptive and gripping' Daily Mail Louise Candlish studied English at University College London and worked as an editor in art publishing and as a copywriter before writing fiction. Though her stories are about people facing dramatic dilemmas, she tries to live an uncomplicated life in London with her husband and daughter.

  • 'I can't take my eyes off the water. Can you?'It's summer when Elm Hill lido opens, having stood empty for years. For Natalie Steele - wife, mother, teacher - it offers freedom from the tightly controlled routines of work and family. Especially when it leads her to Lara Channing, a charismatic former actress with a lavish bohemian lifestyle, who seems all too happy to invite Natalie into her elite circle.Soon Natalie is spending long days at the pool, socializing with new friends and basking in a popularity she didn't know she'd been missing. Real life, and the person she used to be, begins to feel very far away.But is such a change in fortunes too good to be true? Why are dark memories of a summer long ago now threatening to surface? And, without realizing, could Natalie have been swept dangerously out of her depth?Praise for The Swimming Pool 'Exquisitely written and addictively dark, The Swimming Pool is sheer perfection' Clare Mackintosh, author ofI Let You Go 'Gripping from start to finish, it wrapped itself around me and swept me along in its wake. I loved it and simply did not want it to end' Rosanna Ley 'Clever, atmospheric and ridiculously addictive' Kate Riordan 'As languidly seductive as summer itself, this is a tense, unsettling tale about the secrets and lies submerged beneath the smooth surface of a leafy London neighbourhood lido. Bravo, Louise Candlish!' Tammy Cohen 'Smart and gripping from start to finish - I didn't see any of the twists coming. I loved it!' Isabelle Broom, author and Heat Books Reviews EditorPraise for Louise Candlish 'A master of her craft' Rosamund Lupton 'A thriller novel meets soap opera with hints of Rear Window . . . addictive and fun . . . it will keep you guessing until the end' Stylist 'Absorbing, perceptive and gripping' Daily Mail 'Louise Candlish's stories don't shy away from life's more painful and emotional moments' Glamour 'Tense, twisty and completely addictive, will keep you guessing right until the end' Good Housekeeping

empty