• À Madras, Savitri, la fille du cuisinier et David, le fils du maître, jurent de s'aimer toujours en dépit de leurs parents qui veulent les séparer. Dans le Tamil Nadu, Nat quitte l'orphelinat, adopté par un médecin blanc qui l'aime et le protège de ses propres démons. En Guyane britannique, Saroj, une jeune fille rebelle, se révolte contre un père violent qui entend lui imposer un mari dont elle ne veut pas.
    En faisant se rencontrer ces personnages en quête d'identité, Sharon Maas tisse un magnifique et émouvant canevas dans lequel se mêlent trois époques, trois continents et trois histoires d'amour. Un grand roman indien plein de flamme et de couleurs.

  • This is a beautiful, mesmerising work of fiction that makes you think about the past and the history of slavery... Sharon Maas is an author to look out for with regards to historical, romantic fiction.' Krafti Reader


  • Thirty years of family secrets. Three generations of women. One family heirloom that could change everything.
    When she ran away from her childhood home in Guyana, Rika swore that she would never return. Cut off from her family, she has fought hard to make a life for herself and daughter, Inky, in London.
    Now, over thirty years later, Rika's cantankerous, wheelchair-bound mother, Dorothea, arrives in London. But as old wounds re-open, Dorothea and Rika are further apart than ever.
    Inky soon learns that her grandmother is sitting on a small fortune. As she uncovers the secrets of the past one by one, she unravels the tragedy that tore her mother and grandmother apart. But nothing can prepare her, or Rika, for Dorothea's final, unexpected revelation.
    An epic, mesmerizing tale of tragic loss, the strength of words left unspoken, and the redeeming power of love.

  • Anglais The Orphan of India

    Sharon Maas

    An utterly evocative and heart-wrenching novel about the importance of family, love and being true to yourself. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Santa Montefiore and Diane Chamberlain.
    Living on the streets of Bombay, Jyothi has no-one to turn to after her mother is involved in a tragic accident. But after a chance meeting with Monika and Jack Kingsley, Jyothi's life changes forever when the young couple decide to adopt her.
    The new family return to England, but Jyothi finds it difficult to adapt. As Monika and Jack's relationship fractures, Jyothi is more alone than ever and music becomes her solace. But even when her extraordinary musical talent transforms into a promising career, Jyothi still doesn't feel like she belongs. 
    Then a turbulent love affair causes her to question everything. And Jyothi realises that before she can embrace her future, she must confront the pain of her past...
    What readers are saying about Sharon Maas:
    'Sharon Maas has become my 'go-to' author ... The Orphan of India is another wonderful book by Maas that has all the trademark thought and care that resonates throughout her work. A heart-rending, epic tale of loss and identity that gets into your heart.' Bloomin' Brilliant Books
    'I've often said that for a good book to become a book I love, it needs to capture my heart - and that's exactly what happened with this thoroughly gorgeous book. But not only my heart - all my other senses too. The writing is just beautiful ... if, like me, you like your reading to be an escape - a few blissful hours when you can forget everything else and immerse yourself in a totally different world - don't miss this one, whatever you do.' Being Anne
    'I knew I would enjoy this as I have loved all Sharon Maas's previous books. Beautifully written with characters that come to life. Vivid descriptions of India ... Recommended reading.' Goodreads Reviewer
    'I simply adored this book, it was beautifully written and I loved it from the start and felt even a little bereft when it had ended. The story flows and I loved the loss and hope, promise and future aspects that were running throughout. It really did draw me in and I cannot recommend this book highly enough.' Donna's Book Blog
    'Now why on earth haven't I read anything by Sharon Maas before? I loved this one - beautifully written, touched my heart... highly recommend.' Goodreads Reviewer
    'I automatically reach for each Sharon Maas book that I see as I just love the way that you lose yourself completely in the story and finish feeling that you have been along on the journey with the characters.' Bookworms and Shutterbugs
    'A very deep and meaningful story as Sharon Maas writes with her heart on her sleeve. Loved this book.'Books from Dusk til Dawn
    'A page-turning story, full of humanity, crossing cultures and continents.' Katie Fforde
    'I have read and loved all of Sharon Maas's books but this one! Wow! I think this is her most…

  • One woman. One impossible choice. Her daughter or her happiness ...
    When Caroline meets Kamal the attraction is instant. He's enchanting, charismatic and she can't wait to set up a new life with him in India. Both their families are against the union but Caroline is convinced they'll come round, especially when she gives birth to a beautiful daughter, Asha.
    Asha is an adorable child but Caroline, homesick and beginning to hate the remote Indian village they live in, struggles with motherhood. Kamal is hardly ever there and she feels more and more isolated. In the grips of severe depression Caroline flees back to America, leaving Asha behind.
    Ten years later ...
    Caroline recovered from her illness, is consumed by thoughts of the daughter she abandoned. Desperate to find Asha, she reunites with Kamal, intent on tracking her down. Will they ever be able to find their lost daughter? If they have any chance, they must confront the painful truths of the past and a terrible secret that has been kept for many years, until now.
    A heart-breaking and beautifully written story of loss, secrets and the strength of a mother's love against all odds. If you enjoyed Diane Chamberlain and Lucinda Riley then this book will find its way into your heart and stay there.
    What everyone is saying about The Lost Daughter of India:
    'Evocative and atmospheric ... Heartbreaking on so many levels - a rich tapestry of a novel and a worthy read on any shelf' The Book Trail
    'I have read and loved all of Sharon Maas's books but this one! Wow! I think this is her most emotional and beautiful book yet! Such a powerful story, so brilliantly narrated, in such a way that you feel part of it all and are left bereft when it is finished. Five Stars!' Renita D'Silva
    'This book has everything. Great characters, interesting perspective and strong settings. Put all these together with a fantastic writing style and this easily makes my top 10 books of 2016 list' Lexi Reads
    'My heart was in my mouth reading this story but it is a terrific read nevertheless.' 27 Book Street
    What everyone's saying about Sharon Maas
    'Heartbreaking, poignant and intriguing ...This truly is a powerful story that will fascinate and engross you from the very beginning until the very end.' What's Better than Books
    'The writing is stunningly evocative and sensual ...I just felt immersed in the story and setting from the start.' The Book Trail
    'Exceptional ... evokes a whole range of emotions.' Batty About Books
    'A beautifully written story of love against all the odds.' Portobello Book Blog
    'A wonderful and heartrending book.' Sean's Book Reviews
    'A beautiful mesmerising work ... I was completely transported.' Krafti Reader
    'A terrific writer.' Barbara Erskine
    'A page-turning story, full of humanity, crossing cultures and continents, reminiscent of Andrea Levy.' Katie Fforde
    'A beautiful story about tragic love and ultimately about forgiveness... with powerful messages about love, life and learning to let things go in order to…

  • A breathtaking and unforgettable story of a woman torn between her family and the man she loves.
    1912, British Guiana, South America: Winnie Cox is about to marry George Quint, the love of her life. Born into a life of luxury and privilege on her father's sugar plantation, Winnie has turned against her family by choosing to be with George - a poor black postman from the slums.
    Winnie may be living in poverty, but she's got what sister Johanna doesn't have: a loving husband and a beautiful family. And despite Johanna running her family's sugar plantation, Winnie will always be their mother's favourite daughter, a bitter pill for Johanna to swallow.
    Then Winnie's son falls ill and she must travel to Venezuela desperate for a cure. With her sister away, Johanna finds herself increasingly drawn to George. But he only has eyes for Winnie. Johanna, stung by the rejection and the fragile state of her own marriage, is out for revenge - no matter how devastating the consequences.
    A compelling and evocative story of betrayal, temptation and buried secrets that will captivate fans of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Furnivall.
    What readers are saying about The Sugar Planter's Daughter:
    'Heartbreaking, poignant and intriguing ...This truly is a powerful story that will fascinate and engross you from the very beginning until the very end.'What's Better than Books
    'The writing is stunningly evocative and sensual ...I just felt immersed in the story and setting from the start.' The Book Trail
    'Exceptional ... evokes a whole range of emotions' Batty About Books
    'A beautifully written story of love against all the odds.' Portobello Book Blog
    'A wonderful and heartrending book' Sean's Book Reviews
    'A beautiful mesmerising work ... I was completely transported' Krafti Reader
    'A terrific writer' Barbara Erskine
    'A page-turning story, full of humanity, crossing cultures and continents, reminiscent of Andrea Levy.' Katie Fforde
    'A beautiful story about tragic love and ultimately about forgiveness... with powerful messages about love, life and learning to let things go in order to be happy.' Life With Joy
    'Rich in detail and emotion and has the most beautiful and real description of loss I have ever read.' Shaz's Book Blog

empty