• La loi du plus fort... il n'y a que ça de vrai.
    Dès que j'ai vu Olivia, j'ai su qu'elle était l'amie dont j'avais besoin.
    La fille à papa par excellence. Isolée. Vulnérable. Et pleine de secrets inavouables.
    Moi, c'est Kate. Je ne suis partie de rien, mais je suis prête à tout pour atteindre mes objectifs.
    Y compris l'utiliser, elle.
    Car, dans ce monde, il faut être le prédateur. Non la proie.
    Traduit par Alice Delarbre
     

  • Two-time Governor General's Award nominee Teresa Toten is back with a compulsively readable new book for teens!
    When Adam meets Robyn at a support group for kids coping with obsessive-compulsive disorder, he is drawn to her almost before he can take a breath. He's determined to protect and defend her--to play Batman to her Robyn--whatever the cost. But when you're fourteen and the everyday problems of dealing with divorced parents and step-siblings are supplemented by the challenges of OCD, it's hard to imagine yourself falling in love. How can you have a "normal" relationship when your life is so fraught with problems? And that's not even to mention the small matter of those threatening letters Adam's mother has started to receive . . .
    Teresa Toten sets some tough and topical issues against the backdrop of a traditional whodunit in this engaging new novel that readers will find hard to put down.

  • Filled with moments of deep emotion and unexpected humor, this understated and wise novel explores the complexities of living with OCD and offers the prospect of hope, happiness and healing. Perfect for readers who love Eleanor & Park and All the Bright Places.
    ADAM’S GOALS:
    Grow immediately.
    Find courage.
    Keep courage.
    Get normal.
    Marry Robyn Plummer.
    The instant Adam Spencer Ross meets Robyn Plummer in his Young Adult OCD Support Group, he is hopelessly, desperately drawn to her. Robyn has an hypnotic voice, blue eyes the shade of an angry sky, and ravishing beauty that makes Adam’s insides ache. She’s also just been released from a residential psychiatric program--the kind for the worst, most difficult-to-cure cases; the kind that Adam and his fellow support group members will do anything to avoid joining.
    Adam immediately knows that he has to save Robyn, must save Robyn, or die trying. But is it really Robyn who needs rescuing? And is it possible to have a normal relationship when your life is anything but?
    Select praise for The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B:
    “. . . achingly authentic. Like Augustus Waters before him, Adam Spencer Ross will renew your faith in real-life superheroes and shatter your heart in equal measures.” --Kirkus Reviews, Starred
    “This book made me laugh, cry, think, and kept me coming back for more.” --The Guardian
    “Adam is a protagonist that readers will root for.” --VOYA
    “Honest, fresh, and funny . . . Toten employs information about OCD like grace notes in this deft and compelling narrative.” --Booklist
    “Adam is a fresh and complex character, and far more than the sum of his symptoms.” --Publishers Weekly
    From the Hardcover edition.

  • Anglais Beyond Blonde

    Teresa Toten

    In Beyond Blonde, Sophie's world has exploded. Papa has left to try and get sober, and her first love, Luke, has left to marry the mother of his baby. Mama is functioning on auto-pilot, and even Sophie's refuge in basketball is threatened, since the new assistant coach, David Wayne, seems to hate the sight of her. Life is further complicated by her sixteen-year-old body betraying her at every turn. Into this confusing breach step Sophie's brilliant Blondes and the ever-audacious Aunties, helping her to battle back with heart and humour.

  • From Governor General award-winner Teresa Toten comes a powerful and twisted psychological thriller that will rightly draw comparisons to We Were Liars and Gone Girl. Beware That Girl will keep readers guessing until the very last line.
    The Haves. The Have Nots. Kate O'Brien appears to be a Have Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she's had to snake her way out of--some more sinister than others. But she's determined to change that. She's book smart. She's street-smart. And she's also a masterful liar.
    As the scholarship student at the elite Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: her plan is to climb the social ranks and land a spot at Yale. She's already found her "people" among the senior class "it" girls--specifically in the cosseted, mega-wealthy yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she's always needed, the sister she never had.
    When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration as head of fundraising, he immediately charms his way into the faculty and students' lives--especially Olivia's, although she doesn't share what's going on. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can't reveal and can't afford to ignore. Mark has his own plan for a bright future and never doubts that he can pull it off. How close can Kate and Olivia get with Mark without having to share their dark pasts?

  • For fans of We Were Liars, Gone Girl, and The Girl on the Train comes a powerful psychological thriller with a gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists. Set against the backdrop of New York City, this compelling novel delves into the dysfunctional yet mesmerizing world of the mega-wealthy elite and will keep readers guessing until the very last page.
    The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O’Brien appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she’s had to snake her way out of--some more sinister than others. But she’s determined to change all that. She’s book-smart. She’s street-smart. And she’s also a masterful liar. As the scholarship student at the elite Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: her plan is to climb the social ranks and land a spot at Yale. She’s already found her “people” among the senior-class “it” girls--specifically in the cosseted, mega-wealthy yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she’s always needed, the sister she never had.
    When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration as head of fund-raising, he immediately charms his way into the faculty’s and students’ lives, becoming especially close to Olivia, a fact she’s intent on keeping to herself. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can’t reveal--and can’t afford to ignore. Mark has his own plan for a bright future and never doubts that he can pull it off. How close can Kate and Olivia get to him without having to share their dark pasts?
    “Combines a Gossip Girl milieu with the unsettled psychological terrain of Gone Girl.” --PW
    “It’s smart, dark, entertaining, and unpredictable.” --Quill & Quire, Starred
    From the Hardcover edition.

  • Blondes - 3

    Teresa Toten

    Dans Plus que Blonde, Sophie Kandinsky, 16 ans, assiste à l'éclatement de son univers: papa quitte la maison pour devenir sobre; maman se replie sur elle-même; Luke, son premier amour, est contraint de se marier; elle se sent même menacée dans son dernier refuge, le basketball. Et pour couronner le tout, son propre corps la trahit à tout moment! Heureusement, les Blondes adorées de Sophie et ses tantes audacieuses s'avéreront d'un soutien précieux pour l'aider, avec humour et amour, à naviguer entre les écueils et à composer avec d'étonnants secrets. Campé dans les années 1970, mettant en scène des personnages dynamiques et attachants, le roman Plus que Blonde est la conclusion forte et captivante d'une série tout à fait originale.

  • Toni has always had nightmares about fire, and she also has burn scars but no idea how she got them. So when fire destroys the orphanage she has grown up in, she is ready to make her way to Toronto, where she hopes to discover the truth about the mother she believes hurt and then abandoned her. Toronto proves to be both daunting and exciting for Toni, whose charm and innocence attract attention-not always positive-wherever she goes. Buoyed by the music she hears at the folk club where she finds a job, and encouraged by her glamorous landlady, Toni unearths shocking information that contradicts everything she believes and makes her re-evaluate what she feels for all the new people in her life.
    Part of the SECRETS-a series of seven linked novels that can be read in any order.

  • Depuis les six dernières années, Sophie Kandinsky tente de garder secrète sa vie familiale. Mais le diable se cache dans les détails. Premier détail: son excentrique mère bulgare plus vraie que nature. Deuxième détail, légèrement plus important: la condamnation de son gentil père poète pour meurtre. Sophie aspire seulement à être adorée et invincible dans la vie, ce qui s'avère vraiment difficile lorsque les gens apprennent que son père est en prison. Cette fois-ci, après un autre déménagement dans une autre nouvelle école, avec une autre occasion de repartir à neuf, Sophie échafaude un plan. À son premier jour en classe, elle repérera les Blondes - cette clique de filles sûres d'elles et parfaites, au-dessus des commérages et des reproches - et deviendra leur amie. Cette fois-ci, personne ne découvrira la vérité. Cette fois-ci, tout sera génial.

  • La vie est presque... disons... potentiellement parfaite pour Sophie Kandinsky. Il s'avère en effet que les Blondes ont été tout aussi éblouies par elle que celle-ci par ces dernières. Sophie entre en dixième année au collège Northern Heights, une année stratégique dans l'échelle du pouvoir. Elle cessera de faire des secrets et de mentir à répétition, mais pour ce qui est des Blondes - c'est une toute autre histoire. Et les tantes excentriques continueront encore de multiplier les conseils excentriques sur la vie, l'amour et la façon de mettre la main sur l'insaisissable Luke Pearson. Nous apprendrons aussi que les meilleures et les plus surprenantes nouvelles sont aussi les
    pires. Après sept ans, le père bien-aimé de Sophie sort enfin de prison. Papa est de
    retour à la maison. Le problème..., c'est qu'il est censé être mort. Plus de mensonges? Plus de secrets?

  • Katie likes to believe she’s invisible. It seems so much safer than being exposed as who she is: shy, poor, and vulnerable. So getting up in front of audience as the lead in her school’s production of The Taming of the Shrew should be complete torture. But as Katie tells it, something totally unexpected happened when she stepped on stage: “My head exploded. I loved it. Acting hit me like a sucker punch and I loved, loved, loved it! Invisible Katie became visible Katherina.”
    Evan is, as they say, another story. He knows just what it takes to get noticed, and he uses every one of the skills he’s perfected from years of being the new kid at yet another new school. Rich, smart, and ridiculously charming, he’s like nothing and no one Katie has ever encountered. How then could someone like him possibly be interested in someone like her? But before she knows it they are inseparable. Over the dizzying course of their relationship, Katie must confront the fact that the power of love can conceal darker truths.
    From the Trade Paperback edition.

empty